Skip to main content

AQA introduces Tech-levels to tackle skills shortages

Published by
World Coal,

AQA has launched new Tech-level qualifications to address the skills shortages, outlined in the 2011 Wold Report, in Business, Engineering and IT. Over a hundred organisations have contributed to the design of the qualifications, including Siemens, Toshiba, and the Charted Institute of Marketing.

There are seven AQA Tech-levels available:

  • Business Marketing.
  • Design Engineering.
  • Mechatronic Engineering.
  • Power Network Engineering.
  • IT Networking.
  • IT Programming.
  • IT User Support.

In 2016, two more Tech-levels will be added: Cyber Security and Entertainment Technology.

Carole Bishop, AQA's Head of Technical and Vocational Qualifications, said: "We felt strongly that designing qualifications with employers in mind wasn't enough – and that it was important to involve the employers right from the start and at every stage of the process. The input we've had from more than a hundred organisations means we can be really confident that our Tech-levels have exactly what employers are looking for.”

"Because the performance and outcomes are mapped to relevant national standards and have been developed in collaboration with employers and bodies such as ourselves, it means the knowledge and competencies developed are relevant," added Anne Godfrey, Chief Executive of the Chartered Institute of Marketing.

Edited from press release by

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):