Skip to main content

Nominations open for the Silver Anniversary of the OSMRE AML Awards

Published by
World Coal,

Building on 25 years of tradition, innovation, and success, the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE) is soliciting nominations for the 2017 Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation (AML) Awards, which recognise outstanding state and tribal efforts to reclaim abandoned coal mines.

“We encourage every state and tribe to nominate one of their own projects or another that provided outstanding results,” said OSMRE Director Joe Pizarchik. “We have a continuing need to help protect people and the environment from the threats posed by abandoned mines. As more problems reveal themselves in the future, we will need new and innovative ways to address those threats.”

OSMRE began the AML Awards in 1992 to recogniSe exemplary reclamation projects that reclaim sites that were mined and abandoned prior to 1977. Today, the Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Awards are the highest honour a reclamation programme can achieve. The deadline to submit a nomination is April 24, 2017.

Previous AML Award winners have introduced or refined techniques to achieve superior results in returning mines to productive use. Recent award winning projects have featured reforestation techniques; geomorphic land restoration; and the creation of wetlands to mitigate acid mine drainage.

“The recognition of innovative reclamation projects gives everyone something to aspire to,” said Pizarchik. “We also encourage all states and tribes to find new and improve ways to achieve environmentally superior reclamation that creates economic redevelopment opportunities for the people of coal country.” OSMRE will present the 25th Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Awards during the Annual National Association of Abandoned Mine Land Programs Conference in Lexington, Kentucky between September 24 and 28, 2017.

Read the article online at:

You might also like

OSIsoft webinar

[WEBINAR] How to succeed in Digital Transformation in Mining and Materials

During this webinar, OSIsoft will explain their successful path to Digital Transformation, including Predictive Maintenance 4.0 from an asset reliability perspective, Health, Safety & Environment improvement opportunities, and Autonomous Operations for process optimisation. Register for free today »


Coal trading market to 2023

The global coal trading market faces stiff competition due to the involvement of many players in the market, reveals a report by Transparency Market Research (TMR).


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):